Mary's win U/14 title in shootout

St Marys College Galway 2
St Josephs College 'Bish' Galway 2
(AET, St Marys won 3/2 on penalties)

St Mary's captured the F:A:I: (Schools) U/14 'A' Connacht Cup title in dramatic fashion at NUIG on Friday:

The Bish will wonder how they left this behind as their old rivals captured their third Connacht title of the season:

The Bish went ahead with a superb free from Tom Curran after 20 minutes but Mary's equalised before the break when Niall Kinneen pounced to score:

There was little between the sides in the second/half but the Bish again hit the from when Joe O'Brien landed a fine strike to the net:

However, St Mary's battled to the end and pushed players forward in the closing stages in a bid to save the day and they were rewarded when Shane Coyle/Keogh finished with an excellent strike:

Extra/time failed to produce a winner and it was St Mary's who kept their nerve in the penalty shootout to win the title:

ST MARY'S COLLEGE: John Elwood, Cillian Moughan, Evan Browne, Harry Goulding, Myles Upton (capt), Osazie Osagie, Aaron McGinty, Shane Coyle/Keogh, Niall Kinneen, Tony Warde, James Wynne: Subs: Ruairi Lavelle for James Wynne: