Longford ladies outsmart Letterkenny

Teachers Rose Hennigan and Rose Keogh could not have written the script any better as their team scored a hat trick of goals to defeat Loreto Convent, Letterkenny in a pulsating encounter in the Showgrounds, Sligo to lift the All Ireland Girls Minor title for the first time in the schools history

Moyne Community School, Longford 3/2 Loreto Convent, Letterkenny

Moyne Community School continued their winning ways in Schools soccer after an impressive victory over Loreto Convent in the Showgrounds, Sligo today in the UMBRO FAI Schools Minor Girls All Ireland Final:

The Longford school already captured an All Ireland Schools Futsal title earlier in the year with ten of the panel involved in both Finals:

The Leinster ladies started positively and within four minutes they took the lead courtesy of their captain Michelle Farrell who headed in from close range after good work from Michelle Masterson and Mandy Cassidy:

Captain Fantastic, Michelle Farrell was the target person up front and the supply of ball into her was superb with Emma Farley and Mandy Cassidy combining well on a number of occasions: It took some careful defensive play from Nicole McLaughlin and Nadine Crawford to keep the Moyne ladies at bay:

With a quarter of an hour on the clock, Farrell increased her tally with a great goal from close range after an illustrious piece of play from Donna Masterson: Keeper Shauna Patterson could do little about the goal as Farrell’s quick feet connected instantly to slot past her in goal:

Moyne looked comfortable in possession and would be difficult to defeat at this juncture: All credit to Ulster champions Loreto as they settled into the fast paced tempo that Moyne had previously set:

Letterkenny were unfortunate not to snatch a goal as a snapshot from Captain Alice Diver was denied by the woodwork after a delightful set piece on 19 minutes:

Donegal’s travelling supporters could sense their team’s revival as they led their vocal support: Loreto eased forward with some fancy football from Rose Boyle and Lauren Harper:

Kaneshia McKinney advanced forward and was a threat on Laura Whelan’s goal but it took a strong tackle from Karen McKeon to destroy a dominate attack:

Longford tired to make the most of the counter attack and Michelle Farrell was unlucky not to make more of her effort when she was in receipt of a perfect pass from Cathriona Farrelly: Her strike was inches wide of the right post:  

Donegal’s star player, Lauren Harper was on form as she made a darting fun down the right flank but the ever present Aedín Mimnagh managed to avert the danger for a corner kick:

The Longford ladies were a little hot under the collar as Letterkenny increased the pressure in search of their opener:

Miscommunication from goalkeeper Laura Whelan and her colleague Ellie Collum nearly resulted in a goal but Aedin Mimnagh was on hand to tap the ball out over the end line: Yet another corner for the dangerous Donegal dynamite as their hard work was paying dividends:

The resulting corner on 23 minutes was whipped in by Nicole McLaughlin with a scramble in the six yard box: The ball fell at the feet of youngster Sadhbha Medlar who made no mistake as she tapped in to give the Ulster women a chance to regain their composure in an action packed final:  

Leinster’s Ellen Murphy and Emma Farley combined well to put Cathriona Farrelly in on goal but keeper Shauna Patterson was aware of the danger and reacted promptly to clear her line:

The first half came to an end with Moyne leading 2/1 at the interval:

Neither team were reluctantly to make any changes as the second half got under way: The Leinster kingpins didn’t waste any time in securing their third of the day as Michelle Farrell claimed the goal which stuck the foot of a Donegal defender on route to goal just five minutes in:

Moyne v Loreto

3/1 to Moyne with a mount to climb for Loreto Convent: Managers Brid Carr and Michelle Duffy shouted advice from the sidelines and this seemed to work wonders as the girls found an extra gear:

Eimear Shovlin went close in the 40th minute but her shot was saved by Laura Whelan between the posts:

Jamie Lee Murray needed to be strong as she intercepted a good attack with Farrell and Masterson advancing on goal:

The pace of the game increased as Donegal managed a valiant comeback: With six minutes remaining, Alice Diver got the crucial goal after a splendid strike from 12 yards to make it 3/2:

Edge of the seat stuff for both sets of supporters in a marvellous show case for girls football: Would Moyne hold on to their narrow lead or would Loreto get that all important equaliser?

Loreto’s Aisling Ferry was put under pressure by the skilful Ellen Murphy but Ferry regained her footing to advert the danger:

Ulster duo Sadhbha Medlar and Alice Diver linked well to set up Rose Boyle but her effort was cut out by Karen McKeon on 56 minutes:

Moyne tried to push forward with Ellie Collum supplying a great through ball to Mandy Cassidy in midfield, the youngster struck the ball perfectly and Keeper Patterson did extremely well to save under pressure:

Donegal changed their formation in the latter stages of the game with three up front: A courageous ploy by the Loreto management but unfortunately this was not enough to secure an equaliser to take the game into extra time:

Moyne were worthy winners in a thrilling final with both Captains Diver and Farrell stars of the show:  It took a team effort from Moyne to secure the silverware thus resulting in a piece of history for the school as they were crowned FAI Schools Minor Girls All Ireland Champions:

Mr: Ian Carry, FAI National Development Officer for Schools was on hand to present the trophy to the elated Michelle Farrell of Moyne Community School:

 ian presents cup

Loreto Convent, Letterkenny: Shauna Patterson, Nicole McLaughlin, Nadine Crawford, Aisling Ferry, Jamie Lee Murray, Sadhbha Medlar, Alice Diver (Capt), Kaneshia McKinney, Rose Boyle, Lauren Harper, Eimear Shovlin:

Subs: Annie Carr, Niamh McGinley, Aoife Moore, Emma Tracey, Shannon Duffy:

Teachers: Brid Carr & Michelle Duffy


small image loreto

Moyne Community School: Laura Whelan, Aedin Mimnagh, Michelle Masterson, Ellie Collum, Karen McKeon, Donna Masterson, Mandy Cassidy, Ellen Murphy, Emma Farley, Michelle Farrell (Capt), Cathriona Farrelly

Subs: Ciara Keogh, Rebecca Maguire, Amy Faughnan, Emma Bleakley, Ailish Noonan, Chloe Connell, Aine Martin & Maria Matthews

Teachers: Rose Hennigan & Rose Keogh

small image moyne cs

Referee: Ted Moloney (Sligo)