Curtain to come down on Connacht Futsal

Tuesday, November 15, 2016


The FAI Post Primary Schools First Year Boys & Girls Connacht Finals will take place this Thursday, November 17 at IT Sligo as proceedings get underway at 12 noon.


The competition caters for boys and girls in first year which delivers a quality fast paced action packed game focusing on skill, speed and technique.


Futsal is an indoor version of association football. It is played between two teams of five players, one of whom is the goalkeeper, and up to seven substitutes per team. Unlike some other forms of indoor football, the game is played on a hard court surface delimited by lines; walls or boards are not used.


Futsal is also played with a smaller ball with less bounce than a regulation football. The rules create an emphasis on improvisation, creativity and technique as well as ball control and passing in small spaces.


Schools from Mayo, Sligo, Roscommon, Leitrim and Galway will do battle to be crowned 2016 Futsal Champions as 120 students take to the courts.


There is one school that has dual representation with St. Clare’s Comprehensive School, Manorhamilton lining out in both the boys and girls division.


Some notably schools will make a return including previous Provincial winners, St. Joseph’s College, Galway (the Bish) in the boys section and Davitt College, Castlebar in the girls.


For further information on the event please contact the Provincial Co-ordinator John Russell on 083 168 5062


The Connacht winners will progress to the National Finals which take place in Waterford IT Sports Arena on December 8. We wish all participating schools the very best of luck.


List of participating Schools:


Galway (Boys) St. Joseph’s College (the Bish)

Galway (Girls) Claregalway College


Leitrim (Boys) St. Clare’s Comprehensive School, Manorhamilton

Leitrim (Girls) St. Clare’s Comprehensive School, Manorhamilton


Mayo (Boys) St. Louis Community School, Kiltimagh

Mayo (Girls) Davitt College, Castlebar


Roscommon (Boys) Abbey Community College


Roscommon (Girls) Mercy Convent

Sligo (Boys) Summerhill College

Sligo (Girls) St. Attracta’s Community School, Tubbercurry





Provincial Finals:

Ulster:                                    Tuesday, November 15                       AURA Leisure Centre, Letterkenny

Connacht:                              Thursday, November 17                     IT Sligo

Munster:                               Tuesday, November 22                      Waterford IT Sports Arena

Leinster:                                Wednesday, November 23                Gormanston College, Meath

National Final:                      Thursday, December 8                       Waterford IT Sports Arena



Post Primary Schools – Girls

WINNERS:                            Scoil Mhuire SS, Buncrana, Donegal (ULSTER)

RUNNERS UP:                      Coláiste Dún Íascaigh, Cahir, Tipperary (MUNSTER)

THIRD:                                   Ursuline College, Sligo (CONNACHT)

FOURTH:                               Malahide Community School, Dublin (LEINSTER)

Post Primary Schools - Boys

WINNERS:                            St. Patrick’s College, Cavan (ULSTER)

RUNNERS UP:                      Dublin Oak Academy, Bray, Wicklow (LEINSTER)

THIRD:                                   Ashton School, Cork (MUNSTER)

FOURTH:                               Coláiste Mhuire, Ballymote, Sligo (CONNACHT)