North East League All Stars 2024

Press Release:

Wednesday 20th March saw the hosting of the third annual FAI Schools/DkIT/Independent Newspapers North East Senior League All-Stars Selection. Almost 100 guests, including representatives of Independent Newspapers, the FAI Schools Leinster Branch & DkIt, gathered to celebrate as the cream of the North East League crop were presented with a commemorative kit marking their selection.

Soccer in the North East region started in 1984 when the late, great Dave Colgan, a teacher in St. Oliver’s Community College, Drogheda, called a meeting of interested teachers in the old Europa Hotel in Drogheda – he booked a room that held thirty, but only four showed up! Nonetheless, it was a start & the competition commenced in 1985 with six schools competing, from Drogheda, Dundalk & Meath. Over time the region has grown rapidly & there are now thirty four schools playing soccer in the region, which covers Louth, Meath & north Dublin. Indeed, across Leinster, soccer is played in more second level schools than any other code, with 305 schools competing in boys & girls competitions at second level this season.

DkIT is the perfect venue & partner for these awards, as the institute offers specific sports scholarships to students that choose to pursue their third level courses there.

The selection of twenty-two players covered both the Division One & Division Two/Three competitions, with team mentors & the public voting – indeed, almost seven thousand votes were cast in the online poll.

The Division One selection covered five different schools, with Senior League Champions Colaiste na hInse, Bettystown prominent, as well as three Dundalk schools, De La Salle College, Colaiste Ris & St. Mary’s College, Dundalk. The Division Two/Three selection covered seven different schools, with Skerries C.C., Colaiste Chu Chulainn, Dundalk & Colaiste na Mi, Navan prominent in the selection. Also selected was recent Dundalk FC debutant Vincent Leonard from O’Carolan College, Nobber. Many of the players selected are also involved with their local League of Ireland academy teams.

DkIT soccer co-ordinator Thomas McShane were on hand to present the commemorative jersies to the selected students, with kits provided by O’Neills & new Leinster sponsors bodibro.


The full selections were:

Division One

Divisions Two/Three



Ryan McCaffery (Boyne C.S., Trim)

Zeshan Iqbal (Colaiste Chu Chulainn, Dundalk)



Kyron McGee (Marist College, Dundalk)

Johnny Hughes (Skerries C.C.)

Caelem Tunstead (Colaiste na hInse, Bettystown)

Killian Mc Carrick (Colaiste na Mi, Navan)

Conor Callan (De La Salle College, Dundalk)

Josh Pheonix (Colaiste na Mi, Navan)

Conor McKenna (Colaiste Ris, Dundalk)

Callum Boothman (Colaiste Chu Chulainn, Dundalk)



Tom Deary (Marist College, Dundalk)

Harley Williams (Skerries C.C.)

Francis Lynch (De La Salle College, Dundalk)

Josh Condon (Bush P.P.)

Jack McLaughlin (De La Salle College, Dundalk)

Cian Murtagh (Drogheda G.S.)

Ryan Del Duca (Colaiste Ris, Dundalk)

Vincent Leonard (O'Carolan College, Nobber)



Davin O'Connor (Colaiste na hInse, Bettystown)

Naoise Maguire (Drogheda G.S.)

Caelon Sharkey (Colaiste Ris, Dundalk)

Conor O' Brien (Colaiste de Lacy, Ashbourne)