Excitement mounts for Leinster Primary 5s Finals in MDL, Navan


PREVIEW | FAI Schools Primary 5s Leinster Finals Day


Monday, May 13, 2024



The impressive surrounds of the MDL Grounds in Navan will host the FAI Schools Primary 5s Leinster Finals Day on Wednesday, May 15.


192 players from 24 teams in 24 schools have qualified fromtheir County Finals showdown and then again in their Regional qualifiers (Dublin, Mid Leinster, South Leinster & North Leinster) to reach this stage of competition with six sections up for grabs in the boys and girls divisions.


The standard of football in the qualifying rounds was excellent, with the Provincial Finals Day expected to exceed this with some extremely good groupings up for decision.


There is a good geographical spread of schools as Dublin have 6 qualified, while Meath have 4, Carlow 3, Wicklow (2), Kilkenny (2), Kildare (2) and the remaining Counties have one involved, namely; Westmeath, Laois, Wexford, Louth and Offaly making up the 24 excited finalists.


Who will come through their respective section for an opportunity to line out at the Aviva Stadium at the end of the month? Lets look at the make up of teams involved in each division:



The ‘A’ Cup for boys or mix teams in small schools (0-25 boys) will see Boyterstown NS, St. Colman’s NS, St. Joseph’s NS, Hacketstown and Scoil Moibhi all in contention for the Leinster title. While the Girls ‘A’ Cup will see Scoil Eoin Naofa NS, Naomh Bríd NS, Knockananna, St. Leonard’s NS, Dunnamaggin and Coil Isiunta an Dea Aoire (Good Shepard) all in the mix.



Another eye catching division is the ‘B’ Cup which will see Kenstown NS, Scoil Chóca Naofa, Ballon NS and Gaelscoil Cholmcille all gunning for glory. The Girls ‘B’ Cup for medium schools (26-80 girls) have an array of talent with Gaelscoil na Boinne, Trim, Scoil Chomhgain Naofa, Marshalstown NS and Sacred Heart NS all looking to impress.



The large schools category (81+ boys), the ‘C’ Cup will have some competition with St. Declan’s NS, Ashbourne, St. Laurence NS, Gaelscoil Oscri and Bayside NS all lining out for top spot. Likewise, the Girls ‘C’ Cup will serve up a delight with St. Malachy GNS, St. Laurence’s NS, St. Fiacc’s NS and Our Lady’s Grove PS all relishing the chance to progress to the National stage.



The provincial winners will go on to represent Leinster in the FAI Schools Primary 5s National Finals which is scheduled for Wednesday, May 29 at Aviva Stadium, Dublin



What’s it all about?


The 5-a-side competition which is open to boys and girls from 4th, 5th and 6th class, and puts emphasis on fun and inclusivity. The blitz day format is co-ordinated at local level with the assistance of a network of FAI Development Officers and local primary school teachers. These personnel co-ordinate events at County level with qualifying schools progressing to Regional, Provincial and National Finals.



The programme will see 2,025 schools engaged in the competition with 42,064 students participating this season with a remarkable 45% of those participants female.



There are 6 divisions to suit all school sizes with small, medium and large schools all catered for. While the programme encourages boys and girls to play on the same team, there is also a separate competition for girls’ schools. A number of teams can represent one school depending on the size of their student body, giving more children the chance to develop their skills in a safe, child centered and exciting environment.




‘A’ Cup               Small Schools (Boys / Mixed Teams)

Meath                  Boyerstown NS

Offaly                   St. Colman’s NS

Carlow                 St. Joseph’s NS, Hacketstown

Dublin                  Scoil Moibhi


Girls ‘A’ Cup    Small Schools (Girls Only)

Westmeath        Scoil Eoin Naofa

Wicklow              Naomh Bríd NS, Knockananna

Kilkenny              St. Leonard’s NS, Dunnamaggin

Dublin                  Coil Isiunta an Dea Aoire


‘B’ Cup               Medium Schools (Boys / Mixed Teams)

Meath                  Kentstown NS

Kildare                 Scoil Chóca Naofa

Carlow                 Ballon NS

Dublin                  Gaelscoil Cholmcille


Girls ‘B’ Cup    Medium Schools (Girls Only)

Meath                  Gaelscoil na Boinne, Trim

Laois                    Scoil Chomhgain Naofa

Wexford              Marshalstown NS

Dublin                  Sacred Heart NS


‘C’ Cup               Large Schools (Boys / Mixed Teams)

Meath                  St. Declan’s NS, Ashbourne

Wicklow              St. Laurence NS

Kilkenny              Gaelscoil Osrai

Dublin                  Bayside NS


Girls ‘C’ Cup     Large Schools (Girls Only)

Louth                   St. Malachy’s GNS

Kildare                 St. Laurence NS

Carlow                 St. Fiacc’s NS

Dublin                  Our Lady’s Grove PS


Schedule of Events: #Primary5s


Ulster Finals:                      May 15, 2024, Bailieboro Celtic AFC, Cavan

Leinster Finals:                  May 15, 2024, MDL Grounds, Trim Road, Navan, Meath

Munster Finals:                 May 15 (Girls) & May 16 (Boys) 2024, Cahir Park AFC, Tipperary

Connacht Finals:              May 15, 2024 (Girls) & May 16 (Boys) 2024, Milebush, Castlebar, Mayo


National Finals:                May 29, 2024, Aviva Stadium, Dublin