Coola claim National Cup title

FAI Schools Junior ‘B’ Girls National Cup Final (Under 17, Small Schools)


Tuesday, March 12, 2024


Coola Post Primary School 1-0 Coláiste Mhuire, Askeaton

Aoibhin Doherty (26)


COOLA POST PRIMARY SCHOOL near Riverstown in Sligo came through a sensational encounter against Coláiste Mhuire, Askeaton by a solitary goal to claim the FAI Schools Junior ‘B’ Girls National Cup in Athlone Town AFC on Friday last (March 8).

Askeaton had the first real opportunity on goal when Grace Fitzgibbon’s free kick at the edge of the box floated just over the woodwork on 9 minutes.

While three minutes later, Aoibhin Doherty sent a delighted ball into the box for Askeaton keeper Hannah Neville to palm away, the rebound fell nicely for Orlaith Scanlon, but the youngster’s effort was dragged wide of the far post.   

Jane Kelly and Ruth Sheehy both had chances to open the scoring for the Limerick starlets, but their efforts were wide of the target.

Coola’s Aoibhin DOHERTY provided the only goal of the game on 26 minutes as a defensive error with Coláiste Mhuire saw the First Year scholar with time on the ball to pick her spot beautifully.

Fitzgerald and Leahy combined well but their endeavours weren’t on target while Hannah Hargadon was called into action to spoil Ruth Sheehy’s shot after good work from Gemma Leahy.

Neville kept her side in the game after denying a Leah Mullaney strike while Evelyn Fitzgerald cleared a ball off the line just before the hour mark.

Coláiste Mhuire’s number one, Neville halted the exploits of Henry bravely late on.

With the game in added time, the match ended like it started with a lovely Grace Fitzgibbon free kick. It looked like reaching the bottom corner, but Hannah Hargadon forced it out and the Sligo players just did enough to see the game out and claim the National title.

Heartbreak for Coláiste Mhuire as they lost out to St. Clare’s CS, Manorhamilton in the Senior ‘B’ Girls National Cup Final at the end of January in the same venue.

It’s now a second National football title for the Sligo outfit. The girls from Coola Post Primary School have emulated the 2022 success of the boys as they captured the Junior ‘B’ Boys Cup following a  3-2 victory over Scoil Ruáin, Killanaule to claim a first National title for the School. No doubt there are many more National titles in the offing for these young starlets.

COOLA POST PRIMARY SCHOOL | Hannah Hargadon, Ava Lyons, Ava Duggan, Gráinne Smith, Ciara Gilligan, Hayley Mullaney, Leah Mullaney, Leanne Galvin, Orlaith Scanlon ©, Aoibhin Doherty, Sophia Rose Henry

SUBS USED | Áine Mostyn for Leah Mullaney (47), Katie Gilligan for Hayley Mullaney (69)

SUBS NOT USED | Amy Brehony, Clodagh Hannon, Aaleasha Sweeney, Leah Coleman, Suzie O’Grady

TEACHER | Eamonn Bruen ASSISTANTS | Annie Gormley, Aisling Dwyer, Aoibhinn Conlon


COLAISTE MHUIRE, ASKEATON | Hannah Neville ©, Áine Gallery O’Neill, Jennifer Kelly, Anna Fitzgerald, Grace Fitzgibbon ©, Leah Kelly, Abi Fitzgibbon, Evelyn Fitzgerald, Jane Kelly, Ruth Sheehy, Gemma Leahy

SUBS USED | Anna Madigan for Jane Kelly (47), Katie Harty Maune for Leah Kelly (63). 

SUBS NOT USED | Kerry Maune, Sara Walsh, Caitlin Costello, Saran Maune, Xi Xi Prenderville

TEACHER | Íde Trant ASSISTANTS | Aimee Sheahan,  Rebecca Fitzgibbon


MATCH OFFICIAL | Damien Conlon (Athlone)