Trill on the double as Claregalway claim Minor Girls' title

FAI Schools All Ireland Minor Girls Final


Trill on the double as Claregalway claim Minor Girls' title



Moville Community College  0
Claregalway College              2


Johnny Craig
At The Sligo Showgrounds


Claregalway College from Galway are the FAI Schools All Ireland Minor Girls Champions as they turned on the style to see off past masters at this level Moville Community College in the Sligo sunshine on Wednesday.

A goal midway through each half from ace forward Andrea Trill proved the Foyleside girls undoing on an afternoon where they more than matched the Connacht Champions in the middle of the park but couldn’t create the chances in the final third that would give them any hope of an upset.

Much of that shortage of goal scoring opportunities was down to an outstanding defensive performance from the Galway College who soaked up all the Moville girls could throw at them.

With Sinead Donavan playing the role of chief playmaker, Claregalway were able to get their strikers in behind the Moville defence on numerous occasions and, but for some outstanding one on one saves from Clodagh Skelly, the margin of victory could have been greater.

From early on it was clear that Trill was going to have a major impact on the game as Claregalway caught the Ulster Champions cold in the opening 20 minutes to deservedly go ahead.

Roared on by their partisan supporters in the stands, Moville did rally late in the half and started the second half well as Kate McClenaghan fired a freekick inches over the crossbar.

Had that gone in it could have been a different game but, as the second half wore on, Moville were forced to commit bodies forward in search of an equaliser allowing Claregalway to get in behind their defence with more regularity and there was an inevitability about Trill’s second.

Erin Coyle did force a neat save from Hannah Walsh late on as Moville went down fighting but that was significantly the first time in the game that they had tested the Claregalway ‘keeper.

MOVILLE: Clodagh Skelly; Claire Brown, Danielle McLaughlin, Emma Doherty, Breena Diver; Emer Gillen, Amelie Daly (Tegan McCallion 55), Aoibh Faulkner, Kate McClenaghan; Megan Havlin, Erin Coyle


CLAREGALWAY: Hannah Walsh; Alannah Murphy, Sinead Murray, Amy Walsh Caitlin Quinn; Rhiann Heery (Niamh Heffernan 43), Sinead Donovan, Chellene Trill, Abbie Fox Carr; Katie Roche, Andrea Trill.


REFEREE: John Barry (Sligo)