Rice College on track for title defence


FAI Schools Tom Ticher National Junior Cup Semi Final (Under 17, Large Schools)



Thursday, March 21, 2024


Rice College, Westport 4-0 Abbey Vocational School

Jack O’Malley (11, 40+2), Simeon Popov (21), Rian Durkan (71)


REIGNING CHAMPIONS RICE COLLEGE, WESTPORT ensured a third consecutive Cup Final appearance when they saw off the challenge of Donegal Town’s Abbey Vocational School in Ray MacSharry Park, Sligo on Tuesday last (March 19)

A convincing performance from the Mayo side who opened the scoring with 11 minutes played as Jack O’MALLEY pulled off a low drive to beat McLaughlin at the right post following Ethan McGing’s excellent through ball.

Lewis McLaughlin was called into action three minutes later to deny O’Malley a second in close succession.  

The lead was extended on 21 minutes through Simeon POPOV as Abbey’s defence failed to clear the ball and Popov pounced.

The Westport side made it a hat-trick of goals with two minutes of added time in the first period, as Tom McGeogh played in Jack O’MALLEY for the striker to produce a superb finish for his second of the day.

Rice College ahead three nil at the break.

Abbey’s Jack Glapa had a wonderful set piece just miss the upright before the hour mark while Tomas Carr dragged his effort wide of the post seven minutes later.

With nine minutes left, Rian DURKAN snatched a fourth for the Rice College crew to close off the contest. McLaughlin had saved initially to stop O’Malley on the edge of the box, but the rebound fell nicely to the substitute to volley into an empty net.

Rice College, Westport will now face Portmarnock Community School in the FAI Schools Tom Ticher National Junior Cup Final which will take place on Wednesday, April 17.  Venue to be confirmed.

RICE COLLEGE, WESTPORT | Michael McDonnell, Eoghan Moran, Seán Casey, Darragh Reynolds, Tom McGeogh, Jamie O’Malley ©, Aron Heaney, Killian Conway, Jack O’Malley, Simeon Popov, Ethan McGing

SUBS USED | Rian Durkan for McGing (62), Ben Holmes for O’Malley (75), Miki Grabowski for Moran (75), Darragh Corrigan for Conway (75)

SUBS NOT USED | Shane Brennan, Dara Dawson

TEACHERS | Darragh Connolly, Brian Flannery


ABBEY VOCATIONAL SCHOOL | Lewis McLaughlin, Cian Gauigan, Reuben Amoo, Conall Flannery, Christian Ward, Josh Cullen ©, Alan McHugh, Callum Maskeat, Eoghan Gallagher, Óisín Ebbs, Jack Glapa

SUBS USED | Tomas Carr for Ebbs (30), Turlough Carr for McHugh (30), Eoghan O’Neill for Ward (58), Jake Quinn for Glapa (73), Daniel McGinty for Gallagher (80)

SUBS NOT USED | Ethan McCrea, Aidan Quinn

TEACHERS | Mark Young, Gavin Gorman


MATCH OFFICIAL | Stephen Fallon (Sligo)