St. Brendan's College sink Deele College title ambitions in Minor Cup


St. Brendan’s College sink Deele College title ambitions

Bank of Ireland FAI Schools Minor Boys National Cup Final | U15

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

Deele College, Raphoe 1-2 St. Brendan’s College, Killarney

CJ Clarke (15)                                                                                            Ryan O’Grady (28), Emmet O’Shea (49)


THE BANK OF IRELAND MINOR BOYS NATIONAL CUP is on its way to Kerry once again after St. Brendan’s College, Killarney came from behind and managed to hold on to edge out Deele College, Raphoe and capture the National title for the second time in three years at Home Farm FC, Whitehall.

The 2-1 score-line is an indication of the closeness of this rip roaring Cup tie which was played in a great spirit by both sides with lots of enthusiasm but also packed with some excellent football.

The Donegal side who are newcomers to this level of competition had made the perfect start with centre back CJ Clarke heading them in front for the opening goal on 15 minutes.

However that advantage wasn’t to last too long as another defender full back Ryan O’Grady fired in the leveller for St. Brendan’s coming up to the half hour mark.

The important third goal was always going to be the vital score and it was the more experienced Kerry lads who grabbed it 14 minutes into the second half with set piece specialist Emmet O’Shea firing in a wonderful free kick.

St. Brendan’s were on top from the start and Eoghan O’Sullivan headed past the post from a Niall McGillicuddy corner early on.

O’Sullivan then had another chance to open the scoring when a clever pass from Evan Looney, gave him a clear run on the Deele goal but Clarke was quick to spot the danger and got across to clear.

The first glimpse we got of O’Shea’s set piece ability came midway into the half when his well placed free kick dropped in on top of Deele ‘keeper David Arthur but it was scrambled clear by Gavin McGee.

Deele College then broke away after Arthur had fielded a Cian O’Leary header and McGee’s through ball sent in Ronan McKinley but O’Shea managed to clear the ball out over the back line.

The opening goal arrived from the resulting corner on 15 minutes when after Emmett Finnan headed clear, but McGee returned the ball back in and Clarke got a head on it to send it past St. Brendan’s ‘keeper Eoin Moynihan from close range.

McGinley might have doubled the Deele advantage soon after but he fired over from an Oisin Bonner cross.

The Kerry side battled on and they were rewarded after a good spell coming up to the half hour when Dylan O’Callaghan forced a corner on the right.

McGillicuddy’s kick fell to O’Grady at the far post and the full back took a touch to control the ball and then crashed home the equaliser through a ruck of players for a deserved equaliser.

Ruairi Doyle had the chance to give St. Brendan’s a half time lead but his effort from Looney’s pass was blocked by Clarke.

Both sides went about grabbing the advantage with a crucial third goal on the resumption.

And it was the Munster stars St. Brendan’s who got their nose in front from O’Shea’s brilliant free kick out on the left that he placed high over the head of Arthur to drop behind him into the Deele net for a magnificent goal and one that was well worth winning a Cup Final with.

The Ulster Champions did apply late pressure with centre back McGee pushed up front but they just failed to produce an equaliser.

McKinley went close with two good late efforts that forced Moynihan to be at his best to keep out.

St. Brendan’s fine victory is a huge achievement for Trevor Nagle’s side who won the First Year Cup last season with virtually the same squad.  

While the Killarney based teacher has also claimed the National title at Minor level back in 2014 so he has achieved a remarkable three top flight titles in four years with this latest success.  It may even supersede the Hogan Cup success that the School sealed last weekend in Croker! No doubt a remarkable achievement for any school to replicate.


We will look forward to watching St. Brendan’s College progress in the Allen McKinstry Cup as they prepare for their Welsh trip in late May when they represent FAI Schools in the Home Nations tournament following their National Cup victory last season at First Year level.


Our runners up Deele College will no doubt be disappointed following their runners up spot this season but we will definitely see them contest at National level again in the FAI Schools Cup stages following a sterling campaign in 2017. More success to come from the Raphoe troops.

DEELE COLLEGE, RAPHOE | David Arthur, Corey Brolly, CJ Clarke, Gavin McGee, Aaron O’Donnell, Anton Murtagh, Corey McBride-Gillen, Robert Donnell (Captain), Ronan McKinley, Oisin Bonner, Zack Tinney
SUBS | Jack McAuley, Kyron Coyle, Shane Coyle, Dean Quigley, Pierce Lindsay
TEACHER | Andrew McFadden ASSISTANTS | Zac Brolly, Alex Carolan.

ST. BRENDAN’S COLLEGE, KILLARNEY | Eoin Moynihan, Tom Doyle, Neil O’Shea (Captain), Emmett Finnan, Ryan O’Grady, Evan Looney, Cian O’Leary, Niall McGillicuddy, Emmet O’Shea, Dylan Callaghan, Eoghan O’Sullivan
SUBS | Ruairi Doyle (for O’Leary 20), O’Leary (for O’Shea 34), Owen Benson (for O’Sullivan 46), O’Sullivan (for McGillicuddy 55, McGillicuddy (for Looney 61),Conor Henderson (for 64), O’Leary (for Doyle 65), Doyle (for Benson 68), O’Shea (for Henderson 67), William Shine, Craig Boyle O’Sullivan,

Robert O’Shea, Joe Rudden, Matthew Fleming, Philip O’Leary, Lawrence O’Donoghue, Jack McCarthy, Conor O’Leary, Daniel Okwute (injured)
TEACHER | Trevor Nagle ASSISTANT | Joe Hurley KIT MAN | Matas Starosas

REFEREE: David Buckley (Dublin)

Bank of Ireland Minor Boys | Roll of Honour





St. Brendan’s College, Killarney


St. Kieran's College, Kilkenny


Calasanctius College, Oranmore


St. Brendan's College, Killarney


Gorey Community School, Wexford


St. Eunan's College, Letterkenny


St. Joseph's SS, Rochfordbridge


CBS, Sexton St. Limerick


De La Salle College, Waterford


Colaiste an Spioraid Naomh, Bishopstown


Marist College, Athlone


Salesian College, Celbridge


Athlone Community College


St. Eunan's College, Letterkenny


De La Salle College Waterford


De La Salle College Waterford


Colaiste an Spiorad Naoimh, Bishopstown


Blakestown Community School, Dublin