Stage set for Ulster Futsal Finals



Monday, November 14, 2016


LETTERKENNY’S AURA LEISURE CENTRE will play host to the Ulster Post Primary Schools Boys & Girls First Year Futsal Finals tomorrow, Tuesday, November 15 which are scheduled to kick off at 12 noon.


The competition caters for boys and girls in first year which delivers a quality fast paced action packed game focusing on skill, speed and technique.


Futsal is an indoor version of association football. It is played between two teams of five players, one of whom is the goalkeeper, and up to seven substitutes per team. Unlike some other forms of indoor football, the game is played on a hard court surface delimited by lines; walls or boards are not used.


Futsal is also played with a smaller ball with less bounce than a regulation football. The rules create an emphasis on improvisation, creativity and technique as well as ball control and passing in small spaces.


Schools from Monaghan, Cavan, Inishowen and Donegal will participate in this event which will see 96 players take to the courts. 


Which of the five schools represented will be crowned 2016 Ulster Futsal Champions tomorrow afternoon?


There are three schools that have dual representation with Scoil Mhuire SS, Buncrana, Loreto CS, Milford and Coláiste Dún an Rí, Kingscourt all togging out boys and girls teams.


The only County to have separate representation will be Monaghan who have Inver College compete in the boys and Coláiste Oiriall participate in the girls. Inver were successful back in 2009 with the girls reigning supreme so it will be good to see if their boy’s squad can replicate that previous success.


The ladies from Scoil Mhuire Buncrana are Ulster & National Champions so they will be travelling to Letterkenny in defence of their title.


For further information on the event please contact the competition co-ordinator Shane Barr 083 174 0312


The Ulster winners will progress to the National Finals which take place in Waterford IT Sports Arena on December 8. We wish all participating schools the very best of luck.


List of participating Schools:


Monaghan (Boys) Inver College, Carrickmacross

Monaghan (Girls) Coláiste Oiriall


Cavan (Boys) Coláiste Dún an Rí, Kingscourt

Cavan (Girls) As above


Inishowen (Boys) Scoil Mhuire SS, Buncrana

Inishowen (Girls) As above


Donegal (Boys) Loreto Community School, Milford

Donegal (Girls) As above





Provincial Finals:

Ulster:                                    Tuesday, November 15                       AURA Leisure Centre, Letterkenny

Connacht:                              Thursday, November 17                     IT Sligo

Munster:                               Tuesday, November 22                      Waterford IT Sports Arena

Leinster:                                Wednesday, November 23                Gormanston College, Meath

National Final:                      Thursday, December 8                       Waterford IT Sports Arena



Post Primary Schools – Girls

WINNERS:                            Scoil Mhuire SS, Buncrana, Donegal (ULSTER)

RUNNERS UP:                      Coláiste Dún Íascaigh, Cahir, Tipperary (MUNSTER)

THIRD:                                   Ursuline College, Sligo (CONNACHT)

FOURTH:                               Malahide Community School, Dublin (LEINSTER)

Post Primary Schools - Boys

WINNERS:                            St. Patrick’s College, Cavan (ULSTER)

RUNNERS UP:                      Dublin Oak Academy, Bray, Wicklow (LEINSTER)

THIRD:                                   Ashton School, Cork (MUNSTER)

FOURTH:                               Coláiste Mhuire, Ballymote, Sligo (CONNACHT)